JANATA DAL (SECULAR) , commonly called the JD (S), is a regional political party. Its political position is centre-left, operating on the ideology of Social Democratic Secularism.

The Janata Dal (Secular) has its mass base in the states of Karnataka and Kerala. Also, in Kerala, it is a prominent part of the Left Democratic Front.

Party Symbol and its Significance

The Election Symbol of the Janata Dal (Secular), as approved by the Election Commission of India, is "A Lady Farmer Carrying Paddy on her Head." This is a significant symbol as it represents what the party stands for. The tagline of the party is "United by Value, Driven by Faith." The JD (S) believes that there should be equal opportunities for all citizens of the country, by focusing on building a 'community that lasts.' Irrespective of caste, creed, class, race, ethnicity, sex or religion, the JD (S) believes in propagating the true values of Gandhian socialism and the rich heritage of the freedom struggle of India. The ushering of individual liberty by the coming in of Indian independence is carried forward by the JD (S).

The symbol of the 'woman' farmer is representative of the JD (S) being sensitive to the question of women's rights and opportunities. The JD (S) in its Constitution focuses the issues of education, health care, employment, farmer rights and privileges and equal opportunities to all. The JD (S) upholds a polity based on principles of decentralized economic and political power. The JD (S) is strongly opposed to the concept of a theocratic state, preaching no discrimination on the grounds of religious differences.


We believe that everyone needs to be together and that everyone together
can achieve more – the state and the country succeeds.



The Janata Dal (Secular), formed in 1999, had its origins in the Janata Party, founded in 1977 as a coalition of several smaller parties that combined forces to oppose the Indian National Congress.

Janata Dal Formation

In 1988 the Janata Party and other smaller parties merged to form the Janata Dal.

H D Devegowda as PM of India

In 1996, Janata Dal reached its pinnacle when H. D. Deve Gowda became Prime Minister of India, heading the United Front (UF) coalition government.

JD (s) formation

The Janata Dal split in 1999, when a faction led by Chief Minister J. H. Patel lent support to the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance leading to the formation of Janata Dal (Secular) under Sri H. D. Deve Gowda

H D Kumaraswamy as CM of Karnataka

Sri H D Kumaraswamy took oath as 18th Chief Minister of Karnataka

H D Kumaraswamy as CM of Karnataka - 2nd term

H D Kumaraswamy took oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka for the second time